Cambridge Professional Development Qualifications

Cambridge Professional Development Qualifications

Cambridge Professional Development Qualifications ( Cambridge PDQs ) are designed to enrich teaching and leadership. The most important factor in the quality of students’ learning is the quality of teaching and school leadership. Teachers and leader need to develop their professional thinking and practice continuously throughout their careers. We have designed Cambridge PDQs to lead the way in enriching professional learning in schools. These qualifications are based on research evidence about the kinds of professional development that have real impact and value.

The Certificate course is available in:

  • Educational Leadership
  • Teaching and Learning

Cambridge Teachers

Cambridge supports teachers to become :

  • Confident in teaching their subject and engaging each student in learning.
  • Responsible for themselves, responsive to and respectful of others.
  • Reflective as learners themselves, responsive to and respectful of others
  • Innovative and equipped for new and future challenges
  • Engaged intellectually, professionally and socially, ready to make a difference.

About Cambridge Professional Development Qualification (PDQ)

Accreditation by UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

Cambridge Professional Development Qualifications are accredited by the University College London (UCL) Institute of Education. The Certificates are accredited with 60 credits at Level 4 of the Quality Assurance Agency Framework for Higher Education Qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland ( FHEQ ). The Diplomas are accredited with 60 credits at level 5.

UCL Institute of Education was ranked number one for education worldwide in the 2014 and 2015 QS World University rankings.


Cambridge PDQs help practising teachers and education leaders to:

  • Engage critically with relevant educational thinking and international best
  • practices
  • Apply new ideas and approaches in their own practice
  • Reflect on and share experiences and outcomes to plan further development
  • Improve the quality of their student’ learning.

Cambridge PDQs help schools to:

  • Access quality accredited professional development programmes locally that are
  • cost effective and meet individual and school needs
  • Establish and nurture school- based professional learning communities
  • Promote continuing and collaborative professional learning in school life and
  • culture
  • Ensure that professional development is planned, experienced and evaluated as
  • an integral part of school development.

Who are the qualifications for?

Cambridge PDQs are for practising teachers and education leaders. The qualifications are relevant to all general education teaching and learning contexts.

Who designs and teaches the Cambridge PDQ programme?

Cambridge quality assures and approves centres to design and run a Cambridge PDQ programme. We train and accredit a programme leader in the centre. The Programme Leader design their programme using the Cambridge PDQ framework. They run their programme to meet the needs, priorities and local context of their schools (s), teachers and leaders, within our guidelines and quality assurance procedures.

When does the course commence?

We have two session in a year

Session 1: January to May
Session 2: August to December

Fee charges: The fee for a course is INR 19,500/- plus 18% GST

What is the qualification and assessment structure ?

The Cambridge PDQ Diploma consists of three learning and assessment modules. Each module must be completed successfully before moving to the next. Teachers can take Module 1 on its own as the Certificate. It provides a strong foundation for progress to Modules 2 and the Diploma.

Each module is assessed through a portfolio of evidence of practice, learning and reflection using templates set by Cambridge. These portfolios of evidence are submitted to Cambridge when ready for examination, and we examine portfolios every month.

What kinds of professional learning are involved in a Cambridge PDQ programme?

In Cambridge PDQ programmes, teachers and leaders can explore, develop and reflect on new ideas and approaches systematically, with expert guidance and support. Each module requires 120 hours of learning. In each module, there is a balance between: Guided Learning, Work-Based Learning and Individual & Collaborative Learning.  

Where do Cambridge PDQs lead?

Through their accreditation by the IOE, Cambridge PDQs have clear value within established higher education frameworks. This means authorities and institutions around the world can recognise how Cambridge PDQ qualifications relate to local requirements. It also means that teachers and leaders achieving a Cambridge PDQ Diploma can progress to relevant Level 6 and 7 programmes, including UCL’s degree programmes such as the International Professional Graduate Certificate In Education (iPgCE ) or the MA Advanced Educational practice.

The UCL Institute of Education offers an outstanding range of higher-level programmes of higher-level programmes for international educations professionals at all stages of their careers. Through online distance learning, programmes for international education professionals at all stages of their careers. Through online distance learning, students can study from anywhere in the world that has internet access. It provides a truly unique study experience and gives student the flexibility to learn on campus, online in county or through a mix of approaches.

Teachers and leaders who successfully complete the Cambridge PDQ Diploma will have fulfilled the entry requirements for the :

  • Graduate Diploma in Advanced Educational Practice
  • International Professional Graduate Certificate in Education ( iPgCE ).

These are Level 6 programmes, and are available by distance learning. Full – time, part – time and online options are available to allow for flexible study and research.

IOE programmes available by distance learning at Level 7 include the MA Advanced Educational Practice and the prestigious MA Education.

Important Information

Programme Leaders need to meet Cambridge criteria. They must have :

  • A nationally recognised teaching qualification
  • A minimum of five years’ teaching experience
  • A minimum of two years in a position of responsibility for teacher development
  • Evidence of competence in their chosen specialism.


For queries, Write to us